« A sonnet...on pro basketball? | Main | "Life doesn't have to prove itself." »

The new hall-of-famers

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame will soon be inducting its second class: Cyrus Colter, Theodore Dreiser, Harriet Monroe, Mike Royko, Carl Sandburg, and Ida B. Wells. I certainly can't object, since I thought Royko and Sandburg deserved inclusion in the inaugural class, and I've long admired Dreiser's Sister Carrie, one of the best novels written about Chicago (though, admittedly, at least half of the book takes place in Manhattan). Here's hoping for Ring Lardner, Ben Hecht and James T. Farrell, next year.

(Via Chicago Publishes.)

November 14, 2011 in Books, Chicago Observations | Permalink