« Davy Rothbart, The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas | Main | The Pile »

Algren Award Winners Announced


Kevin Moffett of Iowa City, Iowa takes top prize in the Chicago Tribune's 23rd annual Nelson Algren Awards, which honor previously unpublished works of short fiction by amateur or professional American writers.

Double drat. Triple drat.

Moffett's first place story, "Space," will appear in a special Books section Sunday, October 30, along with Algren runners-up David Michael Kaplan for "Some Other Time, Not This Time" and Sharon May for "The Third Country" and "The Monkey King."

Great. Looks like a long Sunday of weeping, gnashing of teeth, and wailing "Why not me? Why? Why?" over and over again. I guess it's time to polish up that old "unappreciated genius" rationalization one more time.

October 26, 2005 in Books | Permalink


Maybe this won't ease the sting, but I had Moffett in an undergraduate fiction workshop at the University of Florida 10+ years ago.... that creaky sound you hear is me resting upon my laurels (or the laurels garnered by others... it's all good!)

Posted by: Mike Newirth at Oct 26, 2005 4:11:24 PM

No, Mike, that doesn't ease the sting for me. Nice try, though.

Posted by: Pete at Oct 27, 2005 2:47:27 PM